Eggslut review: Creamy scrambled eggs

Having tried Egg Stop before, I initially thought that Eggslut would not differ much from the former. Oh boy, was I very wrong. The scrambled eggs in Egg Stop’s signature Fairfax Sandwich were so creamy that I could literally just suck them up from the sandwich! As they were mixed with sriracha mayo, the scrambled eggs had a burst of flavour to them instead of the usual, plain “eggy” taste. Honestly, I did not find that the brioche buns were anything to rave about. Perhaps, I was too focused on the star of the show – the scrambled eggs.

The cheeseburger had an over medium egg, so when the burger was cut (plates and utensils were given for dine-in), it was a pleasant surprise to see a runny yolk overflowing from the burger. The yolk definitely elevated the taste of the burger. I felt that the patty, however, was quite average. I only had one bite of it though, so it probably isn’t fair to judge the taste.

The truffle hashbrowns were cooked in duck fat, and while the hint of truffle in the hashbrowns was a great addition, the hashbrowns overall were quite salty. I had trouble shoving these down my throat because I could taste so much salt with each bite.

Needless to say, the must-order item at Eggslut is hands-down the FAIRFAX SANDWICH! I hope they open an outlet closer to my home, so that I can have this more often!

Leave a comment